Monday, 28 October 2013

What Is Fracking?

Shale gas is extracted through a process called hydraulic fracturing or ‘fracking’, in which fractures have to be created in the rock by forcing water, sand and chemicals (1%) at high pressure allowing the trapped gas to be released into the well.

Did You Know?

It is banned in Luxembourg, France, Bulgaria and Germany and such moratoria are already in place in many areas in the USA, including New York State, New Jersey and Vermont.

Where Is It Happening?

Everywhere, including right on our doorstep!
This licensing map of the UK shows which areas have been allocated a Petroleum & Exploration Development Licence (PEDL). The Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) is divided into a network of blocks. Initial block licenses last for six years – enough time, according to DECC, for the developer to get planning permissions, work out the viability of the area. Further information on the companies involved is available here.
Lancashire has been identified as having 200 trillion cubic feet of potential shale gas reserves, and plans have been announced for over 840 wells over the next 16 years. There are six current sites in Lancashire: Preese Hall, Weeton, is the only UK site to have currently been fracked as opposed to test drilled; test drilling has been in progress at Marsh Road, Banks; Grange Road, Singleton has been drilled, but not fracked; the Anna’s Road site near Lytham St Anne’s is completed ready for the drill; and there is also planning permission for a site at Inskip Road, Wharles, and in Kirkham.

No comments:

Post a Comment